breastfeeding

The Breastfeeding Conflict

Breastfeeding has been in the news a lot lately.
People are floored that a strong woman fed her baby at her graduation.
People are angry that a restaurant employee told a woman to cover up and stood beside her until she finished feeding her child.
Facebook changed their breastfeeding policy to support breastfeeding mothers.

People are shocked that women use their breasts for *gasp* feeding their babies! The nerve! Don’t you know that breasts are funbags for men?!

Psh. Screw that.

Breasts are first and foremost for nourishing children. Not just babies. How long someone feeds their child is not your business. Really…that’s all breasts are for.

What bothers me most from the entire breastfeeding discussion is the shaming between breastfeeding mothers.

Look: you can cover up all you want, but do NOT shame a fellow mom for not covering up.

It’s hot. Some babies (like my own) hate to be covered up and I don’t blame them. I don’t want to eat with something covering me up.
I’m so sick of reading crap like “breastfeeding is wonderful,  but be modest” “show some self-respect” “I don’t want my husband staring at your bare breast” “what do I tell my kid? ” blah blah BLAH.
No one will be 100% pleased with everything ever. Tell your kid that the child is eating. Your dudebro wants to stare at a cute baby eating? OK whatever.

It all boils down to this: If you want to cover up while breastfeeding, be my guest. If you don’t want to cover up, then don’t. Who CARES if you’re covered or not. You are giving your baby what they need! Nourishment.

Support each other. Support all women! Stop this stupid conflict.  Why alienate another?

Normalize breastfeeding Normalize Society! Breastfeeding is already normal.

image
Yes, that's my baby nursing in our sling.

4 thoughts on “The Breastfeeding Conflict”

  1. I never heard anything negative when I used to feed john in public and I fed him for a long time. I stopped when he was 11 months because he had a habit of lifting my shirt and running away. I think that the only way to change people’s minds is to keep doing it and not backing down.

    Like

    1. I wouldn’t stop feeding my child if someone told me to anyway. That’s ridiculous. Why deprive a child for someone else’s comfort? Would they rather hear the baby cry? Never back down is right! :)

      Like

      1. LOL. My mom was the only who said anything. Once she was making a big deal out of it and saying everyone is staring, I was like that is because you are running your mouth.

        Like

What do you think?